Skip to content
SafetyScorer

Is Bitso safe?

Bitso

Bitso, Latin America's largest crypto exchange, has not reported losing customer money and publishes a monthly zero-knowledge proof of solvency. But Mexico does not license crypto exchanges, its main licence is a 2019 one from Gibraltar, and in October 2026 it moved its Brazilian retail customers to Mercado Bitcoin.

Low confidence#18 of 48 crypto exchangesUpdated
Spot a mistake?
Crypto operator
The Badger Technology Company Limited ("Bitso International"), Gibraltar
Founded
2014
Users
More than 10 million in Mexico, Argentina, Brazil and Colombia (2026)
Main crypto licence
Gibraltar DLT licence (GFSC, 2019)
Proof of solvency
Monthly zk-proof with Proven, reserves and liabilities
Security incident
Cyberattack July 2018; company said funds were safe
Brazil
Retail customers moved to Mercado Bitcoin from October 2026

How the score breaks down

The overall score is the weighted average of these factors. Scoring rules

  • Security history30% of score

    85 out of 100, Excellent

    Bitso suffered a cyberattack on 5 July 2018 and froze crypto deposits and withdrawals; it said customer funds were safe and services came back within days. We found no other incident and no report of customers losing money.

  • Proof of reserves20% of score

    58 out of 100, Fair

    Publishes a monthly zero-knowledge proof of solvency built with the cryptography firm Proven, covering both reserves and customer liabilities and posted to Ethereum. No accounting firm attests it and Bitso, a private company, publishes no audited accounts.

  • Licensing20% of score

    55 out of 100, Fair

    Full DLT licence from the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission since 2019. In Mexico, crypto exchanges are not licensed as such; a Bitso affiliate holds an electronic payment fund licence. Moved Brazilian retail clients to Mercado Bitcoin in 2026 as central bank authorisation became mandatory.

  • Custody and protection15% of score

    50 out of 100, Weak

    We found no public figures on Bitso's Cold storageKeeping crypto keys on a device or medium that is not connected to the internet, which protects them from most online attacks.More in the glossary share, insurance or legal segregation of client crypto. Mexico has no crypto-specific custody law, so protection rests on Bitso's own terms and on the proof of solvency.

  • Legal record15% of score

    82 out of 100, Good

    We found no fine or enforcement action against Bitso by Mexico's CNBV or by regulators in Argentina, Brazil, Colombia or Gibraltar. Its 2026 Brazil retail exit was presented as a commercial deal, not a sanction.

Is Bitso safe?

Bitso has a cleaner record than most exchanges of its size and does more than most to show it is solvent, but the legal protection around your money is thinner than at a US or EU exchange. It has not reported losing customer funds, and every month it publishes a zero-knowledge proof that its reserves cover what it owes customers. Against that, its main crypto licence is from Gibraltar, Mexico does not license crypto exchanges as such, and it publishes no audited accounts. We score it 68/100, with low confidence because little about its custody is public.

For a Mexican or Argentine user who wants to buy crypto with local money, it is one of the better-documented options. For storing savings, the same rule applies as everywhere: an exchange balance is a claim on a company.

Who runs Bitso and where is it licensed?

Bitso was founded in Mexico City in 2014 and its group is run from Bitso S.A.P.I. de C.V. there, but your crypto is not held by the Mexican company. Bitso's terms say all crypto operations are carried out by The Badger Technology Company Limited, trading as Bitso International, a Gibraltar company (no. 117775) that holds the GFSC licence FSC1348B. Peso balances sit with the Mexican payment affiliate. It says it has more than 10 million users across Mexico, Argentina, Brazil and Colombia, and its business arm handles about 10% of US to Mexico remittance payments, according to the company.

JurisdictionStatus
GibraltarFull DLT licence from the GFSC, granted October 2019
MexicoNo crypto exchange licence exists; affiliate Nvio Pagos México licensed as an electronic payment fund institution under the fintech law
BrazilRetail customers moving to Mercado Bitcoin from October 2026; Bitso keeps institutional clients
Argentina, ColombiaOperates locally; we could not confirm its entry in Argentina's CNV register of virtual asset providers
US, EU, UKNo crypto licence

The Gibraltar licence is a real one. The GFSC framework covers risk management, governance and cyber controls. But Gibraltar is a small regulator, and the licence is not the same as answering to New York's financial regulator or an EU MiCAThe EU's Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation, which requires crypto exchanges and other providers to be licensed and supervised.More in the glossary authority. In Mexico, the Bank of Mexico restricts how banks and fintechs can deal in crypto, so Bitso operates largely outside a crypto-specific regime.

What happened in Brazil?

On 1 September 2026, Valor Econômico reported that Bitso had agreed a commercial deal with Mercado Bitcoin, Brazil's largest exchange, with no shares changing hands. Bitso's individual customers in Brazil move to Mercado Bitcoin from October 2026, and Bitso keeps only its business clients there. The two companies presented it as a payments alliance.

The timing matters. Brazil's central bank now requires crypto firms to be authorised as virtual asset service providers, with a filing deadline of 30 October 2026. Two smaller Brazilian exchanges, Digitra and Coinext, closed trading in the same weeks. If you were a Bitso customer in Brazil, check that your balance arrived at Mercado Bitcoin and set up security on the new account.

Is Bitso's proof of solvency any good?

It is better than most. Many exchanges publish only Proof of reservesA report in which a crypto exchange shows that it holds enough coins to cover all customer balances, ideally checked by an outside firm.More in the glossary, showing what they hold. Bitso's proof, built with the cryptography firm Proven, covers both sides: the assets it holds, which it proves by signing messages from its wallets, and what it owes customers. A zero-knowledge proof then shows assets are at least equal to liabilities without revealing wallet addresses or balances. The result is posted to a smart contract on Ethereum each month, and logged-in customers can see the reports in their profile.

The limits are the usual ones. No accounting firm signs the reports, so you are trusting the setup of the proof. It covers customer crypto, not the company's other debts. And Bitso is private, so there are no audited financial statements to check its overall position. That is why reserves scores 58, above Binance.US (35), which publishes no proof at all, but well below listed exchanges like Coinbase.

What about hacks?

On 5 July 2018 Bitso reported a cyberattack and switched off crypto deposits and withdrawals while it investigated. Its board chair said customer funds were safe, and Mexico's banking regulator, the CNBV, told financial institutions to raise their guard. Services came back within days. We found no other reported breach and no case of customers losing funds to an attack on Bitso.

What we could not find is just as relevant: Bitso does not publish how much of its crypto is in Cold storageKeeping crypto keys on a device or medium that is not connected to the internet, which protects them from most online attacks.More in the glossary, whether it carries insurance, or how client assets are ring-fenced in law. That is the main reason for low confidence.

How to use Bitso more safely

  1. Turn on Two-factor authenticationSigning in with a second proof of identity on top of your password, such as a code from an app, a security key or a passkey.More in the glossary with an authenticator app, not SMS, and use a long unique password.
  2. Set up the withdrawal address allowlist so coins can only leave to wallets you have approved.
  3. Open the Proof of Solvency section once a month and check the latest report is marked solvent.
  4. Remember that pesos on Bitso are not covered by IPAB, Mexico's bank Deposit insuranceA government-backed scheme that repays bank customers up to a set limit if their bank fails, such as the FDIC in the US or the FSCS in the UK.More in the glossary. Keep savings in an insured bank account.
  5. Keep long-term crypto holdings in a wallet you control, and move only what you need to trade.

How we scored it

Security history (85) is the strongest factor: one 2018 attack with no reported customer loss. Custody (50) is the weakest, because Bitso publishes little about Cold storageKeeping crypto keys on a device or medium that is not connected to the internet, which protects them from most online attacks.More in the glossary, insurance or legal segregation. Licensing (55) reflects a Gibraltar licence and a home market with no crypto licence regime. For comparison, Kraken holds licences in the US, EU and UK and has its Proof of reservesA report in which a crypto exchange shows that it holds enough coins to cover all customer balances, ideally checked by an outside firm.More in the glossary attested by an accounting firm.

Questions people ask

Is Bitso regulated in Mexico?

Only partly. Mexican law does not license crypto exchanges to serve the public as such, and the Bank of Mexico limits what banks and fintechs may do with crypto. A Bitso affiliate, Nvio Pagos México, was among the first firms licensed under the 2018 fintech law, as an electronic payment fund institution. Bitso's crypto operations are run by its Gibraltar company, The Badger Technology Company Limited, under a DLT licence granted in 2019, so that is the regulator for your coins.

What happens to Bitso customers in Brazil?

Bitso agreed a commercial deal with Mercado Bitcoin in September 2026, and its individual customers in Brazil are being moved to Mercado Bitcoin from October 2026. Bitso keeps only its business clients in Brazil. The move came as the Brazilian central bank's deadline for crypto firms to seek authorisation approached on 30 October 2026.

How do I check Bitso's proof of solvency?

Log in on the Bitso website, open your profile and select Proof of Solvency. You will see the latest monthly reports. Each is a zero-knowledge proof, made with Proven's software, that reserves are at least equal to what Bitso owes customers, and it is also published to a smart contract on Ethereum.

Was Bitso hacked?

Bitso reported a cyberattack on 5 July 2018 and switched off crypto deposits and withdrawals as a precaution. Its board chair said customer funds were safe, and the CNBV warned Mexican financial institutions to tighten security. We found no report of customers losing money then or since.

Are my pesos on Bitso protected by IPAB?

No. IPAB, Mexico's deposit insurer, covers deposits at banks, not balances at a crypto exchange or an electronic payment fund. Treat money on Bitso as a claim on the company.

Sources

  1. 1.Bitso legal information and terms (opens in a new tab) · Bitso, 2026
  2. 2.The proof that matters: Proof of Solvency (opens in a new tab) · Bitso, 2026
  3. 3.Mexican crypto exchange Bitso awarded DLT licence by Gibraltar Financial Services Commission (opens in a new tab) · HM Government of Gibraltar, 2019
  4. 4.Bitso, la plataforma de compra-venta de bitcoins ha sufrido un ciberataque (opens in a new tab) · Xataka México, 2018
  5. 5.Bitso y Mercado Bitcoin unen fuerzas con una alianza clave para el futuro cripto en América Latina (opens in a new tab) · iProUP, 2026
  6. 6.Billeteras cripto de Brasil ajustan operación por nueva regulación (opens in a new tab) · iProUP, 2026
Spot a mistake?